Let’s Talk…

Miley Cyrus 

We have all been hearing her name day and night. Everyone is talking about her, about her new music, her new look, her moves, everything. What drives me crazy is that this is exactly what she wants. She wants people talking; about her.
I probably shouldn’t be writing about her because it means I’m falling for her game, but I just can’t help it. 
I’m going to try it to keep it short but we’ll see how it goes. 
Ok, so Miley was engaged to Liam… cute couple. engaged at such a young age? why would that ever be a good idea? they still have to grow; no matter how in love they thought they were your 20’s are for growing and turning into the person you aspire to be. Not everyone gets it right the first time. 
So, I get it. Liam did something stupid (although we will never know the entire story) and Miley is heartbroken. Fine, this happens, we have all been through it. You feel like your world is ending, like there will be no one like that person, that you can’t go forward so you rebel. You go out with your girlfriends, you meet new people, you drink a lot, you try new things, you hit the gym. Awesome! I encourage this. to a certain degree. Girlfriends are there for you to have fun and no one can ever replace them. 
There is a fine line between having fun and going completely crazy. In no way, shape or form do I encourage skankiness. Never, ever, ever! Which directs me to my next point. What is sexy? Sexy is not looking nor acting like a whore (excuse my language, but not really). I don’t know when the confusion with “sexy” started. Why do girls, young girls, feel like they have to let it all out to look hot? No one talked to them about proportions? If you are wearing a short, tight skirt, wear something flowy on top and vice versa. I see this all the time when I go out to club or bars, girls just completely exposing themselves to danger and then of course you see them crying in the bathroom (what made them think someone was actually treat them right?) This might be coming off as really mean but its the plain truth. You cannot go out in almost your underwear and expect to meet prince charming, or expect your guy friends to actually look at you like a FRIEND. It doesn’t happen and it will not ever happen. 
If there is one thing I want to do is to encourage women to realize what they are worth and that there is nothing better, nothing more beautiful than femininity. So, embrace your feminism, we are princesses worth more than money can buy, act like a woman and you will see the kind of respect you will get.

* From the letter Miley received last week.The last paragraph was my favorite one. 
“Whether we like it or not, us females in the industry are role models and as such we have to be extremely careful what messages we send to other women. The message you keep sending is that it’s somehow cool to be prostituted.. it’s so not cool Miley.. it’s dangerous. Women are to be valued for so much more than their sexuality. we aren’t merely objects of desire. I would be encouraging you to send healthier messages to your peers.. that they and you are worth more than what is currently going on in your career. Kindly fire any motherf—er who hasn’t expressed alarm, because they don’t care about you.”

Always, always be a lady; nothing sexier than that, I can assure you. 
Xo, 
Belen 

6 thoughts on “Let’s Talk…

  1. Ha i think this is totally a phase. She's only 20 or 21 and what she's doing and how she is in interviews, it just looks like she's trying too hard. I remember at that age, I also thought I had something to prove. That said, i love her look– her hair, her style when she has clothes on– and her body is sick. I think that in a few years, we'll get the full story and she'll have grown out of it. She's currently out to prove herself and she's just trying really, really hard.

    That said, you're totally right about young girls who dress slutty because they think that's what will get them a man. It's just so not the way to go about it!

    Great rant Belen! xx

    Like

  2. Yes also she's going through a tough time. And I love her too. she has amazing eyes and I think she is very talented, I just hope someone is able to guide her in a better way and that this phase doesn't turn into her entire life, you know?
    Haha yea, I just had to get my thoughts out there… I feel like we are losing the idea that a girl is a girl for a reason. hopefully this will change.
    Xo,
    Belen

    Like

Leave a Reply

