What you don’t know about Saunas

Hi! 
My sister and I have gotten into the habit of going to the Sauna or Steam Room after working out because it feels sooooo relaxing. Every time I come out, I feel like a new person, no stress at all. And after, a good shower and I’m ready for bed. I have always known about saunas and steam rooms but never really understood the reason behind them so I did a little research about saunas. Here’s what I found: 

Aid adaptation
– Reduce stress hormones, 
– Lower blood pressure 
– Improve cardiovascular conditions
– Relieve symptoms of a cold
– May help improve endurance in sport
– Perspiration is a sign of autonomic responses trying to cool the body

Also, Did you know? 

The Finns use fresh leaves, to gently slap the skin and create further stimulation of the pores and cells. 
Apparently, there are more saunas in Finland than there are cars. Weird? Yeap, but kinda cool, too. 
Fire was seen as a gift from heaven in Finland, and the hearth and the sauna oven were its altars. 

I don’t know if steam rooms have the same purpose, I’ll have to do a little research about that. I found all of these facts al over the internet, please correct me if I’m wrong. 


I don’t know about you but, I would love to go to Sauna in Finland!! 
Xo, 
Belen
9 thoughts on “What you don’t know about Saunas

Leave a Reply

