Life: New Book

lean thinking, management, business talk, business, business junkie, mba, entrepreneurship, small business, androbel, business consulting

Hello!

Yes, yes, I’m talking about a book again. Sorry! Last time, I did a book review about a book I read for fun so it’s time to get down to business and read some academic books. I’ve heard about the attention span of our generation getting shorter and shorter and I have recently experienced it. I don’t support it, at all. I experienced it while reading the first chapter of this book and I’m not letting our crazy brain win.

So, about the book. It’s called “Lean Thinking” and nope, it’s not about nutrition haha. As some of you know, I’m getting my masters in business administration with a specialization in entrepreneurship (small business) so, this book is all about business and effective management. I’ve read the first chapter and I love it. I’m a business junkie. oopsies! Business consulting services, here I come!

Well, the first thing I learned was the word: muda. Japanese for waste. Companies create so much avoidable waste. The reason is simple: there is no transparency is business. Everyone wants to out-do the next person and let me tell you, that attitude is just not working. Often times, firms, typically manufacturing firms end up spending more than twice in producing a part just because they have not had the minimum interest in what the downstream or upstream company is doing. They don’t ask because they want to keep their “Success” a secret. They want their “value-added” strategy to be just theirs but the truth is, if they asked, they could be making twice the money they are currently making by reducing time and cost.

Companies, are so, so invested in the financials and in the immediate needs of the upper management that they forget to take a look and analyze the day to day techniques and processes of creating the product the customer wants and needs.

All in all, transparency is the answer to many things in life. It always ends up like that. Transparency in a relationship is crucial. You want your partner to be honest, that way everything works out in the short and long term. In business, it’s no different.

Why do you think people/businesses are so greedy?

I hope you join me in my business talk. Let me know if you like posts like this 🙂

Xo, Belen

6 thoughts on “Life: New Book

    • Yay! Thank you for actually reading this post. I always think people don’t read it.
      Yes! I will do a book review for it 🙂 Might take me some time though…

      Like

  1. I love this post! My blog has turned into a business and I have never been trained in that area, so I need all the help I can get! I hate how greedy businesses are. It’s the worst. I used to work for a place that literally only cared about money. Employees were treated like dirt. It’s what led me to just rely on myself to earn an income and not work for other people. Thanks for sharing this book!

    xo Megan, Lush to Blush

    Like

    • Yay!! I’m so glad I you like this post :). Business is really something I love without the greedy part. I feel like the more transparent you are about your business, the more successful you will be.
      I’m so happy to be almost done, done with my masters! Let me know if I can help you in any way 🙂
      Xo

      Like

Leave a Reply

